5 comments on “Feeling Redundant

  1. Wow. Very strong emotions there.

    When I left the Cancer Council I didn’t get any of the support you got – I got zip. No help, nothing. I did take a ream of paper when I went back to clear my desk. The head of the department – the sociopath that wanted rid of me – hid in his office so he didn’t have to say anything to me. Most of the rest of the department also hid behind their computers. Nice for a charity to treat their fellow workers like they have the plague!

    • They treated you shamefully – and their hiding proves that they knew they treated you shamefully. I am indeed fortunate to have worked for a multi-national corporation who believed in this sort of after-booting care. I know there’s plenty out there who couldn’t care less about what happens to you. Which makes coming to terms with what’s happened to you that much harder.

      The Cancer Council is the poorer without you.

  2. It’s interesting how people react to redundancy. Many years ago, back in the 1990s, when I was made redundant from my job… I just felt angry. It didn’t matter that I wasn’t happy there and that I had already been looking for work elsewhere… I still felt angry. After all the hard work I had done, they told me I wasn’t wanted. The anger subsided a little when they hired me back as a consultant for 2 weeks (at about 3 times my old pay rate) to finish off a project that no one else knew how to do. 🙂

  3. When I got made redundant, back in the 1990s, I just felt very angry. It didn’t matter that I wasn’t happy there and that I had been looking for work elsewhere, I was still angry. After all the hard work I had done, they told me I was no longer wanted. The anger did lessen when they hired me back as a consultant for 2 weeks (at considerably higher pay) to complete a project that no one else knew how to do. 🙂

  4. So well articulated, I have seen so many work colleagues go through the same thing over the years, luckily, touch wood, it has not at this stage affected me, but I can never relax in the comfort of that, I feel a similar sense of loss whenever a new round of redundancies is announced, or filtered through the rumour mill.

    I know you will do well, and the company that you worked for are worse off for having made this decision.

Leave a Reply

